Embajada en Santa Lucía

Argentine Ambassador Presents Credentials in Dominica

Ambassador H.E. Luis Beltrán Martínez Thomas of the Embassy of the Argentine Republic in Saint Lucia presenting his Letter of Credence to H.E. Charles A Savarin, DAH, President of the Commonwealth of Dominica

Wednesay, June 28th, 2017, marked the presentation of the Letters of Credence of H.E Luis
Beltrán Martínez Thomas, Ambassador Plenipotentiary and Extraordinary of the Argentine
Republic to Saint Lucia, to His Excellency Charles A Savarin, DAH, President of the
Commonwealth of Dominica.

Ambassador Martínez Thomas, has served in Argentina’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs since
1974, in a number of capacities within overseas missions and is currently based in Castries,
Saint Lucia. The Ambassador, presented credentials to the President, thus changing the
jurisdiction of the Commonwealth of Dominica from the Embassy in Jamaica to the Embassy in
Saint Lucia.

In his remarks, the Honourable President made reference to the fact that to date Dominica has
benefitted from technical assistance through the Argentine Fund for Horizontal Cooperation in
the areas of health, tourism, education, gender affairs, disaster management, agriculture and
film production since the signing of the Agreement for Technical Cooperation between
Argentina and Dominica in June of 2013.

In response, the Ambassador conveyed the greetings of the Government of the Argentine
Republic and expressed deep appreciation for the warm welcome received by the Argentine
delegation. He remarked that “The Argentine policy towards the Caribbean has been
consistent and steadfast for many decades, and my country stands firm in its willingness to
continue in this stead”. The Ambassador expressed the view that the jurisdiction change to the
nearby country of Saint Luica will enable the two countries to work effectively in bilateral and
multilateral affairs.

During his visit on island, Ambassador Martínez Thomas was received by Honourable
Roosebelt Skerrit, Prime Minister of Dominica and the Honourable Minister of Foreign Affairs
Francine Baron.

Fondo argentino de cooperación sur-sur y triangular